Dr. Anil K. Rajvanshi (BT/MT/ME/1972/1974)

Dr. Anil K. Rajvanshi has been the director of the Nimbkar Agricultural Research Institute (NARI) at Phaltan, Maharashtra since 1981. NARI is a private non-profit NGO working in rural India. It is a registered trust and does pioneering work in the areas of agriculture, renewable energy, animal husbandry and sustainable development.

Dr. Rajvanshi is also the trustee and honorary secretary of NARI. He has concentrated his efforts for last 33 years on how to use high-tech modern science and technology to achieve environmentally sound rural development. Dr. Rajvanshi’s research has therefore spanned a whole spectrum of areas affecting the lives of the rural population. These have included, among others, renewable energy based cooking and lighting for rural households; small scale and taluka level power generation from agricultural residues; electric cycle rickshaws; water purification and effluent treatment using renewable energy.

Dr. Rajvanshi was born and raised in Lucknow, India. After obtaining B.Tech. and M.Tech. degrees in Mechanical Engineering from I.I.T. Kanpur in the early 1970s, Dr. Rajvanshi went to the USA to pursue a Ph.D. degree at the University of Florida in Gainesville. He received his doctorate degree in mechanical engineering in 1979 with specialization in solar energy. He then taught at the University of Florida for two and half years before returning to India in 1981 to join NARI. He left a very lucrative career in the U.S.A. to work for rural development in India, where his work in the area of energy and sustainable development at NARI got national and international recognition.

Dr. Rajvanshi has more than 33 years of experience in renewable energy research and rural and sustainable development. He has 135 publications and 7 patents to his credit. He has written about his experiences of student life in IIT Kanpur and in general how the Institute was in mid-1960s and early 1970s. His memoirs are at: www.nariphaltan.org/iitkdays.pdf

Achievements and Honors


  • Distinguished Alumnus Award from the University of Florida, 2014 (First Indian to win this award).

  • Globe Award for Sustainability Research, 2009.

  • Energy Globe Award in the AIR category, 2004.

  • Federation of Indian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (FICCI) award, 2002.

  • Jamnalal Bajaj Award for the use of science and technology in rural development, 2001. (Till now, he is the only IITian to win this award)




IIT Kanpur



Other Alumni


Prof. Mahan Mitra

(Professor, TIFR)
View Profile

Mr. Prakash Bare

(Producer, Indian Film Industry)
View Profile

Mr. Abhay K. Bhushan

Chairman, Asquare Inc.
View Profile

Mr. Lalit K. Jalan

Director, Reliance Group
View Profile

Mr. Prem D. Rai

MP, Sikkim
View Profile

Prof. Rakesh Agrawal

Professor, Purdue University
View Profile

Mr. Gunjan Bagla

Founder and MD, Amritt Inc.
View Profile

Prof. Ashoke Sen

Professor, HCRI
View Profile

Prof. Ashok Jhunjhunwala

Professor, IIT Madras
View Profile

Dr. Duvvuri Subbarao

Former Governner, RBI
View Profile

Mr. Narayan Murthy

Founder, Infosys
View Profile

Prof. Ashutosh Sharma

(Professor, IIT Kanpur)
View Profile

Report a site error at webmaster@iitk.ac.in