Teachers’ Day Celebrations 2022

Sep 2022

Teachers' Day was celebrated at IIT Kanpur on 5 Sept. 2022. Prof. Partha P Chakrabarti (former Director IIT Kharagpur) Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, graced the event as the Chief Guest. The institute honored & felicitated some of the most esteemed faculty for their dedication and excellence in sharing knowledge:- the Distinguished Teacher Award, Excellence-in-Teaching Award, 1989 Batch Faculty Award, and 25 years-long services to the Institute.

Foundation Stone Laying Ceremony of the Gangwal School of Medical Sciences & Technology And Yadupati Singhania Super Speciality Hospital

July 2022

The Foundation Stone laying ceremony of the Gangwal School of Medical Sciences & Technology, and Yadupati Singhania Super Speciality Hospital was done by Hon'ble Union Minister of Education Shri Dharmendra Pradhan on 16 July 2022. The event was graced by the prominent members of the institute and IITK alumni, such as Dr. Radhakrishnan K. Koppilil (Chairman, BoG, IITK), donors Mr. Rakesh Gangwal, Mr. Hemant Jalan, Mr. Muktesh Pant, and Smt. Sushila Singhania, Dr. Nidhipati Singhania (Vice President, JK Organization & Director, JK Cement Ltd).

55th Convocation

June 2022

IIT Kanpur held its 55th Convocation on 29 June 2022. Dr. Devi Prasad Shetty, Founder & Chairperson, Narayana Health Care, was the Chief Guest. The event was graced by Dr. K. Radhakrishnan, Chairman of Board of Governors, IITK; BoG members, Dr. Saurabh Srivastava, Shri Pradeep Goyal, Dr. Manoj Gonugunthla, Dr. Mahesh Gupta, Prof. Manas K. Ghorai, and Prof. Bishakh Bhattacharya. Attended by head of the departments, IITK faculty, and parents of graduating students, 1360 students were conferred degrees. Students were also issued digital degrees to all the graduating students using blockchain-driven technology developed at IIT Kanpur. The degrees are based on Self-Sovereign Identity (SSI) and unforgeable and globally verified.

Shashwat Gupta
President’s Gold Medal
Computer Science & Engineering Dept.

Prateek Yadav
Director’s Gold Medal
Mechanical Engineering Dept.

Priyadarshi Singh
Director’s Gold Medal
Aerospace Engineering Dept.

Atin Vikram Singh
Ratan Swarup Memorial Prize
Electrical Engineering Dept.

Rupesh R Chafle
Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma Medal
Materials Science & Engineering Dept.

Glimpses of 55th Convocation 2022

Prof. Ashutosh Sharma selected President of the Indian National Science Academy

June 2022

Prof. Ashutosh Sharma (BT/CHE/1982) was selected as the President of the Indian National Science Academy in June 2022. He is an Institute Fellow and Distinguished Alumnus of IITK. Prof. Sharma served as the Secretary of the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India. He is a recipient of the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar award in engineering sciences for his "original pioneering contribution to the understanding of the behavior of thin films and other highly confined nanoscale systems." For more

IITK Karvaan

IITK Delegation Visits United States of America

08 – 22 May 2022

A delegation from IIT Kanpur comprising of IITK Director; Prof. Abhay Karandikar, IITK Deputy Director; Prof. S. Ganesh, Prof. Yogesh M. Joshi, IITK Development Foundation CEO; Mr. Kapil Kaul visited the United States to interact with alumni, strengthen institute-alumni relations, and to chart a future roadmap of IITK.

In the first leg of the visit, the delegation interacted with the alumni at Indian Consulate, New York on 08 May 2022. Shri Randhir Jaiswal, Indian Consul General, was the Guest of Honor, and the event event was attended by more than 75 alumni. Our distinguished alumni, Mr. Rajeev Tandon, Dr. Dev Joneja, and Prof. Pawan were felicitated.

The second event that was held in Washington DC was attended by the Hon’ble Ambassador of Indian Embassy US, Shri Taranjit Singh Sandhu and many of IITK alumni. IITK Distinguished alumnus, Dr. T. Venkatesan, Director, Centre for Quantum Research & Technology, University of Oklahoma, was felicitated. Keynote talks were given by our Distinguished alumni, Mr. Muktesh (Micky) Pant, Senior Advisor at Beyond Meat and, Mr. Sudhakar Kesavan, Executive & CEO at Inner City Fund.

IITK Karvaan delegation held its third event in Chicago for its next outreach event with alumni. The event, held in Union Chicago League Club, was attended by more than 120 alumni. IITK Distinguished alumnus, Dr. Rajeev Gautam, President & CEO of Honeywell Performance Materials & Technologies, was felicitated. IITK also signed an MoU with Dr. Rathin Dutta who committed an amount of USD 150 K for research in Sustainable Energy Engineering.

In the last leg of its trip, IITK karvaan held a grand event in San Francisco in India Community Center in Milpitas. Our Distinguished alumni, Dr. Anand Jagannathan, and Prof. Vijay Dhir were felicitated. Mr. Rakesh Gangwal, one of the biggest benefactors of IIT Kanpur, gave a keynote address emphasizing on the importance of giving back to IIT Kanpur. Attended by more than 300 alumni, the event was a grand success.