Internal Complaints Committee (ICC)

The Internal Complaints Committee of IIT Kanpur was constituted on 9th March 2016 Link in accordance with the provisions described in the Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013 Link and the Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Rules, 2013 Link.

The Current Committee

Mini Chandran
(Presiding Officer) (Ph: 7191)

R. Vijaya (Ph: 7552)

Somenath Biswas (Ph: 7574)

Harshawardhan Wanare (Ph: 7885/6080)   

Jonaki Sen (Ph: 4054)

Nishant Nair (Ph: 6311)

Veena Singh (Ph: 7680)

Braj Bhushan
(Chairman, SAEC) (Ph: 7024)

Rita Singh (External member)

Who can file a complaint?

Any woman employee of IIT Kanpur including faculty, staff and students as well as any woman residing or visiting the campus in any capacity may file a complaint against an incident of sexual harassment.

How to file a complaint?

A formal written complaint must be filed either as a hard copy or an e-mail within 3 months of the incident against which the complaint is being filed.The ICC is required to complete the process of inquiry and submit its report within 90 days from the date of the complaint.

The formal complaint must contain the following:

    • Date and time of the incident.

    • The place where it occurred.

    • Name and contact information of the accused.

    • Name and contact information of witnesses.

    • Detailed description of the incident.

Please seek assistance from the ICC if you are not sure how to write the complaint.

All information related to a complaint will be kept strictly confidential.

Where to file a complaint?

You can communicate with the Presiding Officer or any other member of the ICC through phone or email. For purpose of further enquiry, you will have to submit a formal written complaint addressed to the Presiding Officer, ICC.