Internal Complaints Committee (ICC)

The Internal Complaints Committee of IIT Kanpur was constituted on 9th March 2016 in accordance with the provisions described in the Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013 and the Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Rules, 2013.


The Current Committee
   

Achla M. Raina
(Presiding Officer)

achla@iitk.ac.in (Ph: 7894)

Mini Chandran

minic@iitk.ac.in (Ph: 7191)

Somenath Biswas 

sb@cse.iitk.ac.in (Ph: 7574)

Harshawardhan Wanare 

hwanare@iitk.ac.in (Ph: 7885/6080)   

Jonaki Sen 

jonaki@iitk.ac.in (Ph: 4054)

Nishant Nair 

nnair@iitk.ac.in (Ph: 6311)

Veena Singh  

veenasg@iitk.ac.in (Ph: 7680)

Deepu Philip
(Chairman, SAEC)

dphilip@iitk.ac.in (Ph: 7460)

Rita Singh
(External member)

rutagiitk@gmail.com



Who can file a complaint?

a) Any woman employee of IIT Kanpur including faculty and staff as well as any woman residing in the Campus or visiting the Campus in any capacity may file a complaint against an incident of sexual harassment.

b) Any student, irrespective of age and/or gender, may file a complaint against an incident of sexual harassment as per the IIT Kanpur Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal of Sexual Harassment of Students Rules, 2017.



How to file a complaint?


A formal written complaint must be filed either as a hard copy or an email within 90 days of the incident about which the complaint is being filed. The ICC is required to complete the process of inquiry and submit its report within 90 days of the filing of the complaint.



The formal complaint must contain the following:


  • Date and time of the incident

  • The place where it occurred

  • Name and contact information of the accused

  • Name and contact information of witnesses

  • Detailed description of the incident


Please seek assistance from the ICC if you are not sure how to write the complaint.

All information related to a complaint will be kept strictly confidential.



Where to file a complaint?


You can communicate with the Presiding Officer or any other member of the ICC through phone or email. For purpose of further enquiry, you will have to submit a formal written complaint addressed to the Presiding Officer, ICC.
Email: icc@iitk.ac.in; achla@iitk.ac.in