Dr. Jag Mohan Chair

Mr. Sudhir M Mittal (BT/CHE/1970) worked with Union Carbide for 10 years. He switched from job to his own enterprise and set up a special wire manufacturing unit, Sukriti Vidyut Udyog making silver and nickel-plated copper wires that are largely exported to Europe, the USA, and the far east. Mr. Mittal pursues village and primary education. He is the President of Gram Bharati, near Pilakhua, a training school for teachers of village schools. He is presently actively associated with Saraswati Vidya Mandir, Ghaziabad.
Mr. Mittal instituted Dr. Jag Mohan Chair that is open to all the departments of sciences and engineering.

Current Occupant

Prof. Gautam Sengupta

April 2022 - April 2025

Prof. Gautam Sengupta, Department of Physics, specializes in String Theory. His research interests are in the fields of AdS-CFT Correspondence & Holographic Quantum Entanglement, Conformal Field Theories, AdS-CFT Condensed Matter Physics. He earned his doctorate from the Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar in 1992.

Past Occupant

Prof. Ashish Dutta

Aug. 2018 - Aug. 2021

Prof. Ashish Dutta, Department of Mechanical Engineering, research interests are in the fields of Robotics, Intelligent Control systems, Microsensors and actuators, and Bio-robotics. Prof. Dutta leads the Mechatronics Lab at IITK where students and associated professors actively pursue research and professors conduct courses on Machine Learning, AI & Robotics. He led a team at Mechatornics lab in creating a prototype of Chandrayan-2. Prof. Dutta earned his doctorate from Akita University, Japan in 2002.