State Bank of India Chair

The State Bank of India is a multinational public sector bank. Headquartered in Mumbai, Maharashtra, it is a government corporation statutory body. The Bank has over 24000 branches in India and 191 overseas offices in over 36 countries in the world. SBI is ranked as 236th in the Fortune Global 500 list of the world's biggest corporations of 2019. It is the largest bank in India with a 23% market share in assets, besides a share of one-fourth of the total loan and deposits market.
SBI instituted the State Bank of India Chair on energy & environment with special emphasis on innovations in the field of solar energy. The Chair can be occupied for a period of three years.

Current Occupant

Prof. Avinash Kumar Agarwal

August 2018 - August 2021

Prof. Avinash Kumar Agarwal, Department of Mechanical Engineering, research legacy covers the fields of engine combustion, alternate fuels, emission and particulate control, optical diagnosis, Methanol Engine Development, fuel spray optimization and tribology. He had successfully assisted in developing low-cost diesel oxidation catalysts and homogeneous charge compression ignition engines. Prof. Agarwal has authored books like, Environmental Contaminants (2018, Springer, Singapore), Air Pollution & Control (2018, Springer, Singapore), Coal and Biomass Gasiification (2018, Springer, Singapore) to name a few. Prof. Agarwal was conferred with the prestigious J C Bose Fellowship of Science and Engineering Research Board by the Government of India (August 2019), Shanti Swarup Bhatngar Award (2016). He was inducted as a Fellow of American Association for Advancement in Science (2019), Royal Society of Chemistry (2018) & National Academy of Sciences (2018).