Poonam and Prabhu Goel Chair

Dr. Prabhakar Goel (BT/EE/1970) is an Indian-American researcher and an entrepreneur. After completing his B.Tech from the Department of Electrical Engineering, IIT Kanpur in 1970, he went on to pursue PhD in Electrical Engineering from Carnegie Mellon University, USA. On completing his doctorate, Dr. Goel joined IBM's EDA organization where he developed PODEM Automatic test pattern generation & Verilog hardware description language, one of his most famous works. He set up the Poonam and Prabhu Goel Chair at the Department of Computer Science and Engineering in the area of Internet Space. The Chair position can be held for a period of three years.

Current Occupant

Prof. Laxmidhar Behera

August 2018 - August 2021

Prof. Laxmidhar Behera, Department of Electrical Engineering, specializes in the areas of robotics and artificial intelligence. He heads the Intelligent Systems and Control Laboratory at IIT Kanpur and extensively focuses on developing automation solutions to industrial problems.

Prof. Jayant K. Singh

Feb. 2021-Jan. 2024

Prof. Jayant Kumar Singh, Department of Chemical Engineering, research interests are Nanotribology, Multi-scale modeling of micro/nano devices, Crystallization at nanoscale, Selective adsorption and separation, Thermophysical behavior of complex fluids, free energy calculations. He heads the Computational Nanoscience Laboratory & Laboratory for Interfacial Science that works on development of new materials for energy, environment and health applications. Prof. Singh is the recipient of prestigious JSPS Invited Fellowship (2017), Class of 1970 Reseach Fellowship (2013-2016), Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellowship (2012). He is currently the Dean of Resources & Alumni, IITK. He earned his Doctorate from the University of Buffalo, New York (2004).

Prof. Mainak Chauduri

May 2019 - April 2022

Prof. Mainak Chauduri, Department of Computer Science & Engineering, specializes in computer architecture. In the year 2010, he spent eleven months as a visiting researcher at Intel Corporation. His research contributions during this time significantly influenced the design of the cache hierarchy in the Skylake client and server processors. Prof. Chauduri has collaborated with the Intel Achitecture Group and the Intel Microarchitecture Research Lab for nearly a decade contributing to several research papers and a number of patents. He was a recipient of Intel's Technology Excellence award in the year 2018. Professor Chaudhuri has published several research papers in the top-tier computer architecture conferences and journals. His research has won two best paper awards at the International Symposium on High Performance Computer Architecture (HPCA), a top-tier venue for publishing computer architecture research results. Prof. Chauduri is recipient of the IBM Faculty award and Microsoft Research India young faculty award.