Rajeeva and Sangeeta Lahri Chair

Dr. Rajeeva Lahri (MSC/PHY/1975) is the Vice-President Mobility & Wireless Business Unit, California. His vast career includes as the Fonder & CEO of Signet Solar Inc. USA; CTO & Executive Vice-President Operations of Intersil Corp; and Senior Vice-President of Corporate Technology at VLSI Technology Inc. Dr. Lahri has held various management and technical positions in National Semiconductor and Hewlett Packard. He earned his doctorate in Electrical Engineering from the State University of New York at Buffalo.
Dr. Lahri and his wife, Mrs. Sangeeta Lahri instituted the Rajeeva and Sangeeta Lahri Chair open to all faculty members in the departments of science and engineering working in energy, infrastructure or an area leading to improving the quality of life in India.

Current Occupant

Prof. Dhirendra S. Katti

July 2022 - July 2025

Prof. Dhirendra S. Katti, Department of Biological Sciences & Bioengineering , research interests are in the areas of Biomaterials, Controlled Drug Delivery Systems, Tissue Engineering and Nano-biotechnology. He earned his doctorate from Mumbai University (worked at CSIR-IICT Hyderabad) in 1999. He is currently the Dean of International Relations at IIT Kanpur.

Past Occupant

Prof. Ashok K. Kumar

May 2019 - April 2022

Prof. Ashok K. Kumar, Department of Biological Sciences & Bioengineering, works in the areas of design and development of new smart polymeric biomaterials and supermacroporous matrices for different applications in biology and biotechnology. He is the Principal Investigator of AK BioLabs at IITK that works on the development of the new generation of cryogel biomaterials, smart polymeric materials and nano materials towards biotechnology and biomedical engineering applications. Prof. Kumar is the recipient of TATA Innovation Fellowship award by DBT (2013), Madhav Rao Scindia Memorial award in Science and Technology (2013), Samsung-GRO International research award for health systems research (2012), International Brainpool Fellow, Korea (2012). He earned his doctorate from IIT Roorkee in 1993.