N.C. Nigam Chair

Late Prof. N.C. Nigam was a faculty and head of Aerospace Engineering Department at IITK and Distinguished alumnus of IIT Roorkee. His family & friends instituted the N.C.Nigam Chair in his memory. The Chair is open to all the departments of science and engineering.

Current Occupant

Prof. Manas K. Ghorai

July 2022- July 2025

Prof. Manas K. Ghorai, Department of Chemistry, specializes in Synthetic Organic Chemistry. His research interests include Azirdine and Azetidine Chemistry, Dianion Chemistry, Memory of Chirality, and Organocatalysis. He earned his doctorate from the National Chemical Laboratory, Pune in 1998.

Past Occupant

Prof. Tarun Gupta

May 2019 - April 2022

Prof. Tarun Gupta, Department of Civil Engineering, specializes in Environmental Engineering, Atmospheric Chemistry, Air Pollution and Control, Engine emission, Aerosol instrumentation, Human health and risk assessment. He did his M.Tech from IIT Bombay and doctorate from Harvard. He has published in more than 120 journals and is accredited with four patents, and, two technology transfer to industry and BARC. Dr. Tarun Gupta has won many awards for his path-breaking research and innovation. He won INAE Innovator and Entrepreneur Award 2018, NASI Scopus Young Scientist Award 2015, INSA Medal for Young Scientist 2011, INAE Young Engineer Award 2009& IEI Young Engineer Award 2008.