Prof. Balasubramanian Gopal (MSC2/PHY/1993)

Prof. Balasubramanian Gopal, an outstanding structural biologist and molecular biophysicist, is a distinguished professor at the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. He is best known for his invaluable contributions towards developing a wider understanding of the cell wall synthesis in a common gram-positive bacterium known as Staphylococcus aureus found in human skin and respiratory tract.

In the recognition of his stellar work in the field of transcription initiation and control in TB bacillus, the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, Government of India conferred upon him the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award in 2015.


Prof. Balasubramanian Gopal received his master’s degree from IIT Kanpur. Shortly afterwards, he started off his career with Torrent Pharmaceuticals as a biochemist at their Ahmedabad station. Later, he got inclined towards pursuing a Ph.D. and decided to take a break from his job to join the Indian Institute of Science (IISc) for the same. After completing his doctoral research, he moved to the UK and joined the National Institute for Medical Research to pursue his post-doctoral studies in crystallography.

After returning to India, he joined the Indian Institute of Science (IISc) as a member of Lab 301 of Molecular Biophysics Unit where he and his colleagues carry out their research on mechanistic and structural aspects of membrane associated proteins involved in transcriptional regulation, inter-cell communication and mediate antimicrobial resistance. Throughout his illustrious career, Prof. Gopal has published his extensive research findings in the form of articles in several peer-reviewed journals out of which over 77 have been listed on Google Scholar.

He has been a keynote speaker at several seminars including the Graduate Students’ Meet 2007 and the 2nd International Conference on Structural and Functional Genomics organized by Sastra University at Tanjor in August 2016. Moreover, in the recognition of his stellar performance in the field of biological sciences, he has been awarded fellowships from the National Academy of Sciences, the Indian Academy of Sciences and the Indian National Science Academy.

Awards and Honors

  • Fellow, Indian National Science Academy, 2016.

  • Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award for Science and Technology, 2015.

  • Fellow, Indian Academy of Sciences, 2013.

  • Fellow, National Academy of Sciences, India, 2013.

  • National Bioscience Award for Career Development, Department of Biotechnology, 2010.



IIT Kanpur



Other Alumni


Prof. Rajesh Gopakumar

(Professor, TIFR)
View Profile

Dr. Manu Prakash

(Faculty, Stanford University)
View Profile

Prof. Rakesh K. Jain

(Professor, HMS)
View Profile

Prof. Amitabh Chattopadhyay

(Professor, ASIR)
View Profile

Prof. Sandip P. Trivedi

(Director, TIFR)
View Profile

Prof. Dipankar D. Sarma

(Professor, IISc)
View Profile

Report a site error at