Prof. Trilochan Sastry

Prof. Trilochan Sastry is a renowned IIM Bangalore professor who is credited with bringing in major electoral reforms in the country. He is the founder and trustee of the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR), an organization that has been at the forefront of cleansing the corruption in Indian politics and increasing voter awareness. He is also the man behind the Centre for Collective Development (CCD) that promotes cooperatives for small and marginal farmers and has succeeded in providing higher returns to them without subsidy. His primary interests include supply chain and operations, as well as social entrepreneurship, rural development and good governance. He is a recipient of numerous prestigious awards. In 2013, IIT Kanpur conferred upon him the prestigious Satyendra K. Dubey Memorial Award for his contributions to bringing about transparency in public life.


Prof. Trilochan Sastry received his B.Tech. in electrical engineering from IIT Delhi in 1981 and an MBA from IIM Ahmedabad in 1983. After briefly working in the corporate sector for two years, he joined Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA for a doctorate degree in Operations Research. Since then, he has held several teaching positions in institutions of world repute. After teaching at IIMA for many years, he moved to IIM Bangalore where he served as a dean from 2008 to 2011 and continues to teach Quantitative Methods & Information Systems. He has also been a visiting professor at the International University of Japan; Hong Kong University of Science and Technology; MIT; and Cambridge.

Prof. Sastry has been deeply involved with several civil society initiatives and movements. In 1999, he founded the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR), an organization that works towards bringing in electoral and political reforms. Based on a PIL filed by the founders (all IIMA professors), the Supreme Court made it mandatory for all candidates contesting elections to disclose criminal, educational and financial background. Since then, ADR, in collaboration with the National Election Watch, has conducted election watches across the states. Its Citizen Election Watch campaigns help in increasing voter awareness. Prof. Sastry is also the founder and CEO of the Centre for Collective Development that promotes small farmer cooperatives enabling them to earn higher incomes without subsidies. He has also advised corporate, government and international agencies on wide-ranging issues from corporate strategy, restructuring of organizations, evaluation of large development programs to cooperatives and governance. He is also on the boards of IIM Bangalore and the National Bank of Agriculture and Rural Development (NABARD).

Prof. Sastry’s significant work and contributions in bringing reforms in the society have won him numerous prestigious awards and honors.

Awards & Honors

  • CNN-IBN, NDTV, TOI Indian of the Year awards.

  • Bharat Asmita National Award, Pune-based MIT group of institutions, 2015.

  • Distinguished Alumnus Award, IIT Delhi, 2012.

  • Toastmasters International Award, 2011.

  • Citizen Extraordinaire Award, Rotary Club, Bangalore, 2009.

  • Young Global Leader Award, World Economic Forum, 2008.

  • 'Outstanding Contribution to National Development' Award, IIT Delhi Alumni Association, 2005.

  • Best Young Teacher Award, Association of Indian Management Schools, 1999.




IIT Kanpur



Other Alumni


Mr. Ashok Kumar Meena

IAS Officer
View Profile

Mr. Rahul Sharma

IPS Officer
View Profile

Mr. Ram Sewak Sharma

IAS Officer
View Profile

Mr. Sudhir Vyas

IFS Officer
View Profile

Dr. Duvvuri Subbarao

Former RBI Governor
View Profile

Mrs. Sonal V. Mishra

IPS officer
View Profile

Mr. Saurabh Kumar

IFS officer
View Profile

Mr. Rajiv Chawla

IAS officer
View Profile

Mr. Vikas Kumar

IPS officer
View Profile

Report a site error at