Prof. Nitin Saxena

Prof. Nitin Saxena (BT/PhD/CSE/2002/2007)

Prof. Nitin Saxena is a highly acclaimed computer scientist who shook the global scientific community by the sheer brilliance and simplicity of his groundbreaking work in early 2000s. The fact that the work formed a part of his joint undergraduate thesis at IIT Kanpur makes it a rare feat. In a joint paper titled ‘PRIMES is in P’, written along with Prof. Manindra Agrawal and Dr. Neeraj Kayal, he proposed the AKS Primality test that was labelled as “a wonderfully elegant” primality-proving algorithm by scientists the world over.

He was later felicitated with two of the most prestigious honors in the field of theoretical computer science and discrete mathematics, Gödel Prize 2006 and Fulkerson Prize 2006. In fact, he is the youngest Gödel Prize winner ever. He is a recipient of numerous other prestigious awards including the INSA Young Scientist Medal, 2015 and the SwarnaJayanti Fellowship, 2013-14. In 2018, he added another recognition to his list when he was selected for the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award in Mathematical Sciences. At 37, he is one of the youngest scientists to receive this honour.

Currently, Prof. Saxena is an associate professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, IIT Kanpur. He broadly works in the areas of computational complexity theory, algebra, geometry and number theory. In 2003, IIT Kanpur conferred upon him the Distinguished Alumnus Award for his exceptional academic brilliance. In 2009, he was voted one of the top 50 alumni by the IIT Kanpur Alumni Association to celebrate 50 years of the institute.

“I analyze computers using an area in mathematics called algebra. Algebra has fascinated me since school days. I now use it to solve computer science problems. Along the way, this research creates a new kind of mathematics that is beautiful and sometimes practical.”


Prof. Nitin Saxena completed his B.Tech. in Computer Science from IIT Kanpur in 2002. For his excellent performance in the first two semesters of study at IITK, he received the National Scholarship 1999. For his joint undergraduate thesis work titled Towards a deterministic polynomial time primality test that won him the best B.Tech. Project Award in 2002, he teamed up with Neeraj Kayal, his batchmate. The interesting fact is that both Nitin and Neeraj were members of the Indian team selected for the 1997 International Mathematical Olympiad Training Camp (IMOTC '97). Prof. Saxena was a part of both IMOTC ’97 & IMOTC '98 and won the Best Solution to a Challenging Problem award in both the camps (Bhabha Atomic Research Center, Mumbai).

The same year, he gained worldwide attention for proposing AKS Primality Test in a paper titled Primes is in P on 6 August 2002, along with Prof. Manindra Agrawal and Neeraj Kayal. Scientists the world over labelled it “a wonderfully elegant” primality-proving algorithm that is general, polynomial, deterministic and unconditional. Later, the trio went on to receive two of the highest honors in the field, the 2006 Fulkerson Prize and the 2006 Gödel Prize, for their breakthrough work. Prof. Agrawal said about his students, “They are happy, but at the same time quite cool about it. I would say they are very level-headed boys… They still need to pick up so many things. But they are free to make the decision—they already have an offer from TIFR [Tata Institute of Fundamental Research].” On the attention they received, Prof. Saxena, who was then a student, commented, “It was just simple algebra that we worked with. But there is so much to learn in mathematics and computer science.”

Being deeply interested in the subject of mathematics, Prof. Saxena chose to work in complexity theory considering it a way to unravel the mysteries and solve the longstanding problems in mathematics. He decided to stay back and pursue his PhD under Prof. Agrawal at the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, IITK. During his doctoral studies, he was a Visiting Student Research Collaborator at Princeton University (2003-2004) and a Visiting Scholar at the National University of Singapore (2004-2005). Throughout his doctoral work from 2002 to 2006, he received the Infosys PhD Fellowship. In 2005, IBM India Research Lab felicitated him with the ‘Outstanding PhD Student Award’. His dissertation is titled Morphisms of rings and applications to complexity.

In September 2006, he started his postdoctoral work at the Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica (CWI), Amsterdam, Netherlands and continued till 2008. He then joined the Hausdorff Center for Mathematics, University of Bonn, Germany, as a Bonn Junior Fellow (W2 Professor). In 2013, he returned to India and joined his alma mater IIT Kanpur as an Associate Professor and continues to pursue his research interests in Computational Complexity Theory, Algebra, Geometry and Number Theory. He is also an Adjunct Professor at the Chennai Mathematical Institute, Tamil Nadu (2018 – 2021). In 2018, he was awarded the IIT Kanpur Young Faculty Research Fellowship for a period of three years.

Prof. Saxena has served on several program committees (FCT 2019, FSTTCS 2018, STACS 2014, CCC 2011 and CSR 2011); and reviewed for prestigious journals (Combinatorica, Comp. Complex., J. Complexity, Math. Comput., SIAM J. Comp, J. Symb. Comput. …) and conferences (ANTS, CCC, FCT, FOCS, FSTTCS, ICALP, ISSAC, STOC, SODA, STACS …).

Prof. Saxena is also a recipient of numerous prestigious national and international awards.

Awards and Honors


  • Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award, 2018

  • INSA Young Scientist Medal, INSA, 2015

  • SwarnaJayanti Fellowship, Department of Science and Technology, India, 2013-14

  • Best Paper Award (Track A) for the joint paper Algebraic independence and Blackbox identity testing by EATCS at ICALP Conference, 2011

  • Best Paper Award and the Ronald V. Book Best Student Paper Award for the joint paper Polynomial Identity Testing for Depth 3 Circuits, IEEE Conference on Computational Complexity, 2006

  • Gödel Prize, ACM-SIGACT & EATCS, 2006

  • AMS-MPS Delbert Ray Fulkerson Prize, 2006

  • Outstanding PhD Student Award, IBM India Research Lab, 2005

  • Infosys PhD Fellowship, 2002-2006

  • Global Indus Technovators Awards, 2003




IIT Kanpur



Other Alumni


Prof. Amitabh Chattopadhyay

(Professor, ASIR)
View Profile

Prof. Sandip P. Trivedi

(Director, TIFR)
View Profile

Prof. Manindra Agrawal

(Professor, IIT Kanpur)
View Profile

Dr. Manu Prakash

(Faculty, Stanford University)
View Profile

Prof. Arnab R. Choudhuri

(Professor, IISc)
View Profile

Prof. Shiraz N. Minwalla

(Professor, TIFR)
View Profile

Prof. Thirumalai Venkatesan

(Professor, NUS)
View Profile

Prof. Veena Sahajwalla

(Scientia Professor, UNSW)
View Profile

Prof. Jainendra K. Jain

(Professor, PennState University)
View Profile

Prof. Rakesh K. Jain

(Professor, HMS)
View Profile

Prof. Jayadev Misra

(Professor, University of Texas)
View Profile

Prof. Dipankar D. Sarma

(Professor, IISc)
View Profile

Prof. Rajeev Alur

(Professor, University of Pennsylvania)
View Profile

Prof. Anil K. Jain

(Professor, Michigan State University)
View Profile

Prof. Sangram Mudali

(Director, NIST)
View Profile

Report a site error at