## **IIT Kanpur Establishes New Department of Economic Sciences**

With great pleasure the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur would like to announce the establishment of the new Department of Economic Sciences as the fifteenth department of the Institute. This was established by the encouragement and able guidance of the Director, **Professor Indranil Manna** and with the support and blessings of the Chairman, Board of Governors, **Shri R.C. Bhargava** (Chairman, Maruti Suzuki Ltd).

Economics was taught as a subject in IIT Kanpur at the undergraduate level as a requirement in Humanities and Social Sciences. The courses were offered by the Economics group of the Humanities and Social Sciences department. From 2005, a unique five-year integrated MSc programme was launched by the Economics group of IIT Kanpur, where the students who came into this programme were selected through IIT-JEE examination. In 2011, this programme was reshaped as a four-year BS and a five-year BS-MS dual degree programme in Economics. This undergraduate programme in Economics has become very popular, with more and more high ranking JEE students opting for it. Economics students continue to have excellent placements and the programme has one of the best placement records among the various departments in IIT Kanpur. The Economics group is also actively engaged in research in theoretical and empirical areas of the field and has mentored a large number of PhD students since its inception.

The idea of this new department was initiated almost one and a half years ago and as a consensus among the faculty members of the Economics group emerged, the Institute took a proactive role in speeding up the process which went through several steps, beginning with a review by a National Advisory Board consisting of eminent economists and academicians from various prestigious schools in India and abroad. The senate of IIT Kanpur approved the formation of the new Department of Economics Sciences on 6<sup>th</sup> April, 2017. The department became operational on 6<sup>th</sup> May, 2017 after the formal approval of the Board of Governors.

The formation of the new Department of Economic Sciences represents a transformational phase in IIT Kanpur and this is a very unique event, since this is the first separate department of Economics in the whole IIT system. Headed by **Professor Joydeep Dutta**, the department will consist of 13 faculty members and will continue to run the four-year BS and five-year BS-MS dual degree programme in Economics along with the PhD programme. As the BS-MS dual degree programme in Economics is very popular among students, a new two-year interdisciplinary Masters programme in Economic Sciences, a first of its kind in the country, is also in the pipeline. The new department will strive to maintain high academic standards and will also make an all-out effort to hire and retain excellent faculty members. The faculty at this department is actively engaged in conducting workshops, conferences and seminars and intends to contribute significantly to academics and public policymaking. There are also plans to have various academic activities in the future and to collaborate with top institutions in India and abroad for this purpose.