Invited Speaker

A Brief Bio-Data of Dr. N Eswara Prasad, FIIM, FIE, FAPAS, FAeSI, FAPAM, FInSIS Director, Defence Materials and Stores Research and Development Establishment, Kanpur



Dr. N. ESWARA PRASAD, FIIM, FIE, FAPAS, FAeSI, FAPAM, FInSIS, is a B.Tech. (1985) and Doctorate (1993) from the prestigious IIT-BHU Metallurgical Engineering Department and is an Outstanding Scientist of DRDO and presently the Director, DMSRDE, Kanpur. Dr. Prasad is an innovative and creative researcher and technologist. His major contributions to Indian Defence include: S&T, Design, Development, and Airworthiness Certified Production of Many Advanced Aerospace and Special Functional Materials: (i) Al &Al-Li Alloys for LCA, LCH and Indian Space Programme; (ii) Aero Steels for Indian Missile Programmes; (iii) High Strength and High Temperature Ti Alloys, including β -Ti Alloys; (iv) Advanced Ultrahigh Temperature Materials - Mo & Ti Intermetallics, Monolithic Ceramics (Structural Alumina, Graphite and SiC) as well as Carbon, Silica and SiC based <u>C</u>ontinuous <u>F</u>ibre-reinforced, <u>C</u>eramic-matrix <u>C</u>omposites (CFCCs); and, (v) Functional and Stealth Materials – which all resulted in to realizing Defence Hardware worth > Rs. 1600 Crores, ~330 peer reviewed publications and >360 Classified/Restricted Documents.

Dr. Prasad is a recipient of several prestigious awards and honours, which include: The first YOUNG SCIENTIST AWARD in the Materials Stream of Indian Science Congress Association (1991); YOUNG METALLURGIST Award of Indian Institute of Metals from Ministry of Steel (1994), Research Fellowship from the Prestigious Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany (1998-1999), Visiting Scientist at Max-Planck-Institute, Stuttgart, Germany (1998-1999), Binani Gold Medal (IIM, 2006), the National Metallurgist Day's METALLURGIST OF THE YEAR Award from Ministry of Steel & Mines (2010), AICTE-INAE Distinguished Visiting Professorship at Andhra University and Mahatma Gandhi Institute of Technology (INAE, 2012- 2016), IIT-BHU(MET)'s Distinguished Alumnus Award (2013), and the prestigious Dr. VM Ghatge Award (2014) and National Aeronautical Prize (2017) of Aeronautical Society of India and the GD Birla Gold Medal of IIM (2018).