Timeline and major milestones of the Department of Sustainable Energy Engineering

  • November 7, 2020: IIT Kanpur Senate recommended the formation of the Department.
  • December 7, 2020: IIT Kanpur Board of Governors approved the formation of the Department.
  • December 26, 2020: Department officially formed and Prof. Ashish Garg (then Professor in the Materials Science and Engineering) was appointed as the first Head of the Department.
  • July 2021: Admission of first batch of PG students.
  • July 2021: Chandrakanta Kesavan Center for Energy Policy and Climate Solutions incubated in SEE through generous support from Mr. Sudhakar Kesavan (IITK Distinguished Alumnus of 1976) and his family.
  • February 2022: SERB IRHPA Center named CREATE sanctioned with Prof. Raju Kumar Gupta as PI.
  • April 2022: DST-ICMAP Center was inaugurated (PI: Prof. K.S. Nalwa).
  • February 2023: Sustainability Cell & IGBC student chapter was formed.

Earliest faculty members

  • 2021: Prof. Ashish Garg (Jan 2021) and Dr. Kanwar Singh Nalwa (Sept 2021) moved from MSE to SEE.
  • December 2021: Dr. Lalit Pant and Dr. Deepika Swami.
  • January 2022: Dr. Debopam Das, Ashoke De and Vaibhav Arghode of Aerospace Engg became joint faculty with SEE.
  • March-July 2022: Dr. Laltu Chandra, Dr. Aakash Rai, Dr. Rajeev Jindal and Dr. Prabodh Bajpai joined SEE.
  • November-December 2022: Dr. Sudarshan Narayanan and Dr. Amarendra Edpuganti joined SEE.
  • April 2023: Dr. Sachchida Nand Tripathi of Civil Engg became joint faculty with SEE.
  • March 2024: Dr. Srinivas Karthik Yadavalli joined SEE.