Prof. Deepak Dhar


Prof. Deepak Dhar is an Indian theoretical physicist and a distinguished professor at the department of physics of Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune. Known for his research on statistical physics and stochastic processes, Prof. Dhar is an elected fellow of all the three major Indian science academies-Indian Academy of Sciences, Indian National Science Academy and National Academy of Sciences, India-as well as of The World Academy of Sciences. The Council of Scientific and Industrial Research awarded him the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology for his contributions to physical sciences in 1991.


Prof. Dhar graduated in science from the University of Allahabad in 1970 before earning a master's degree in physics from the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur in 1972. Moving to the US, he enrolled for his doctoral studies at California Institute of Technology, and after securing a PhD in 1978, returned to India to start his long career at Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR) as a research fellow the same year and over the years, became a full-professor. Post-retirement, he continues his association with TIFR as a distinguished professor of the institution. He also serves as a distinguished visiting faculty at the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Pune.

Prof. Dhar is an associate editor of Journal of Statistical Physics since 2005 where he sat in the editorial board from 1993-96 and 1999-2002. He is an editorial board member of the Indian Journal of Pure and Applied Physics (IJPAP) of the National Institute of Science Communication and Information Resources (NISCAIR), a former editorial adviser to Physica A, an Elsevier science journal, and has been associated with journals, such as Journal of Statistical Mechanics: Theory and Experiment, Physical Review E and Pramana as an editorial board member. He was a member of the Commission on Statistical Physics of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics from 1992 to 1995 and is a member of the program committee of the International Centre for Theoretical Sciences.

Achievements and Honors

  • Recipient of Padma Bhushan, Govt of India, 2023.
  • Boltzmann Medal in Physics, 2022.
  • Fellow, JC. Bose National, Science and Engineering Research Board, 2007.
  • Fellow, The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS), 2006.
  • Satyendranath Bose Medal, INSA, 2001
  • Third World Academy of Sciences Prize, 2002.
  • Fellow, National Academy of Sciences, 1999
  • Fellow, the Indian National Science Academy, 1995
  • J. Robert Schrieffer Prize, The International Centre for Theoretical Physics, 1993
  • Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, 1991.
  • Fellow, Indian Academy of Sciences, 1990.
  • Young Scientist Medal, the Indian National Science Academy, 1983.