Prof. Raghavan Varadarajan


Prof. Raghavan Varadarajan is an Indian biophysicist and a professor at the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. Known for his research in the fields of protein structure and protein folding and his contributions in developing vaccines and drugs for treating a type of fatal influenza and HIV-1, Prof. Varadarajan is a former J. C. Bose National Fellow of the Department of Science and Technology and an elected fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences and the Indian National Science Academy. The Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, awarded him with the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology in 2002 2002 for his contributions to biological sciences.


Prof. Varadarajan completed his graduation and master's degrees from the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur in 1982 and moved to the US for his doctoral studies at Stanford University under the guidance of Steven G. Boxer. He did his post-doctoral studies at Yale University at the laboratory of Frederic M. Richards from 1988-92 and he returned to India to start his academic career at the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore in 1992. Prof. Varadarajan is a professor of Molecular Biophysics Unit, and heads The Varadarajan Laboratory of IISc that works in the design of HIV-1 and influenza immunogens. He also serves as an honorary professor at Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research and as the Chairman of the Scientific board of Theramyt Novobiologics, a Bengaluru-based research platform (which he helped found), engaged in the development of biological drugs.

Achievements and Honors

  • G. N. Ramachandran Gold Medal for Excellence in Biological Sciences and Technology, CSIR, 2013.
  • J. C. Bose National Fellowship, Department of Science and Technology, 2007-12.
  • Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize, 2002.
  • Swarnajayanthi Fellowship, Biological Sciences, Department of Science and Technology and AIDS-Innovation Grant Award of the National Institutes of Health ( both, Senior Research Fellowship of Wellcome Trust, 2000
  • B. M. Birla Science Award, B. M. Birla Science Centre, 1998.
  • Fellow, Indian National Science Academy and the Indian Academy of Sciences.