Office of International Relations

Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur

Award Information:
The Rice-IITK Strategic Collaboration Awards (SCA) have been established to facilitate and support joint initiatives that will strengthen the two universities’ strategic priorities and develop high-impact multi-disciplinary research.
In the first round of the Rice-IITK SCA, proposals were invited in all disciplines at Rice and IITK, but particularly in the fields of Energy and Environment, Healthcare, Biomedical Sciences, Biomedical Engineering, and Data Science and Computer Science & Engineering. After a round of screening, eight projects were finally selected for the funding. Each selected proposal has receive up to 20,000 USD/INR 15 lakhs from their respective university.

Rice - IITK Strategic Collaboration Awardees
S. No.IITK PI (Name and Department Affiliation)Rice PI (Name and Department Affiliation)
1 Debajyoti Paul, Earth Sciences Rajdeep Dasgupta, Department of Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences
2 Dootika Vats, Mathematics and Statistics Eric Chi, Department of Statistics
3 Krishanu Biswas, Materials Science and Engineering Pulickel Ajayan, Materials Science and Nano Engineering
4 Arnab Hazra, Mathematics and Statistics Meng Li, Department of Statistics
5 Suparno Mukhopadhyay, Civil Engineering Satish Nagarajaiah, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
6 Amitangshu Pal, Computer Science & Engineering Ashutosh Sabharwal, Electrical & Computer Engineering
7 Yogesh Joshi, Chemical Engineering Daniel J. Preston, Mechanical Engineering
8 Arjun Ramakrishnan, Biological Sciences & Bio Engineering Behnaam Aazhang, Electrical and Computer Engineering