Joydeep Chakrabortty

PhD (Harish-Chandra Research Institute)

Associate Professor, Department of Physics

Research Interests



  • PhD, Harish-Chandra Research Institute, 2011
    PhD thesis title: Some aspects of Grand Unified Theory: gauge coupling unification with dimension-5 operators and neutrino masses in an SO(10) model. PhD thesis supervisor: Professor Amitava Raychaudhuri
  • M.Sc., Calcutta University, 2006
  • B.Sc., Burdwan University, 2004



  • Group Theory and its application to High Energy Physics

  • Standard Model and Gauge Theory

  • Joydeep Chakrabortty, H. Zeen Devi, Srubabati Goswami, Sudhanwa Patra: "Neutrinoless double-β decay in TeV scale left-right symmetric models"Journal of High Energy Physics, August 2012, 2012:8

  • Joydeep Chakrabortty, Janusz Gluza, Radomir Sevillano, Robert Szafron: "Left-right symmetry at LHC and precise 1-loop low energy data" Journal of High Energy Physics, July 2012, 2012:38

  • Subhaditya Bhattacharya, Joydeep Chakrabortty: "Gaugino mass nonuniversality in an SO(10) supersymmetric grand unified theory: Low-energy spectra and collider signals" Phys. Rev. D 81, 015007 – Published 7 January 2010

  • Joydeep Chakraborttya, Amol Dighe, Srubabati Goswamic, Shamayita Ray: "Renormalization group evolution of neutrino masses and mixing in the Type-III seesaw mechanism" Nuclear Physics B, Volume 820, Issues 1–2, 11 October 2009, Pages 116–147

  • Joydeep Chakraborttya, Amitava Raychaudhuri: "A note on dimension-5 operators in GUTs and their impact" Physics Letters B, Volume 673, Issue 1, 9 March 2009, Pages 57–62

High Energy Physics

  • Assistant Professor : 2015-Present @ IIT Kanpur, Kanpur

  • Inspire Faculty : 2013-2015 @ IIT Kanpur, Kanpur

  • Postdoctoral Fellow: 2011-2013 @ Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedbad

  • Offered Post-Doctoral Fellowship (2013) at Universite Libre de Bruxelles (ULB), Belgium. Offered Post-Doctoral Fellowship (2013) at National Institute of Theoretical Physics (NIThep), South Africa.

  • INSPIRE Faculty Award 2012.

  • Selected for Marie Curie Actions Fellowship 2011.

  • Offered Post-Doctoral Fellowship (2011) at Center of Excellence for Particle Physics at the Terascale School of Physics, Monash University, Australia.

  • Qualified the CSIR-UGC (JRF) on the basis of performance in the National En- trance Test (NET) 2006 (Ranked in Top 5 %).

Playing Football and Tennis 


Room No. FB-372
Department of Physics,
IIT Kanpur-208016, Uttar Pradesh, India

Office Phone: 0512-259-7083 (O)

Email: joydeep[AT]

Effective Field Theory, Quantum Field Theory, Spectral Functions, Heat kernel


Birds at IIT Kanpur
Information for School Children
IITK Radio
Counseling Service