K. V. Srivastava

PhD (IIT Kanpur)

Professor, Departement of Electrical Engineering

Research Interest



  • PhD, IIT Kanpur (2008)
    Thesis Title: Studies on Inhomogeneous Dielectric Resonators for Improved Mode Separation in MIC Environment using Efficient FDTD Algorithm and its Application to Band-pass Filter
    Thesis Supervisor:Prof. Animesh Biswas
  • M.Tech, IIT Kanpur (2004)
  • B.Tech, Kamla Nehru Institute of Technology,
    Sultanpur U.P., 2002



  • Alok Kumar Saxena and Kumar Vaibhav Srivastava, "A Three-Dimensional Unconditionally Stable 5-Step LOD-FDTD Method", in IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, vol. 62, no. 3, March 2014.

  • Somak Bhattacharyya, Saptarshi Ghosh and Kumar Vaibhav Srivastava, "Triple Band Polarization- Independent Meta-material Absorber with Bandwidth Enhancement at X-band." in Journal of Applied Physics, vol. 114, 094514, Sept 2013.

  • Debdeep Sarkar, Kumar Vaibhav Srivastava and Kushmanda Saurav, "A Compact Microstrip-fed Triple Band-Notched Ultra-Wideband Monopole Antenna," in IEEE Antenna and Wireless Propagation Letters, vol. 13, pp. 396-399, 2014.

  • Saptarshi Ghosh, Somak Bhattacharyya, Yadunath Kaiprath and Kumar Vaibhav Srivastava, "Bandwidth-Enhanced Polarization-Insensitive Microwave Metamaterial Absorber and its Equivalent Circuit Model," in Journal of Applied Physics, vol. 115 , 104503 , March 2014.

  • Kushmanda Saurav, Debdeep Sarkar and Kumar Vaibhav Srivastava, "Dual-Polarized Dual-Band Patch Antenna Loaded with Modified Mushroom Unit Cell," in IEEE Antennas and Wireless Propagation Letters, vol. 13, pp. 1357-1360, 2014.


  • Cadence Gold Medal-2005: Best M.Tech. Thesis in any of the Engineering Departments for Good Academic Performance, Innovation in Thesis, Development of New Technology and/or Substantial Betterment of Existing Technology.

  • Best Teaching Assistantship Award: Best teaching assistantship award for year 2005-06-1st Semester in Department of Electrical Engineering, IIT KANPUR.

  • Appreciation Letter: Received Appreciation Letter from GE Global Research Centre, Bangalore India for significant contribution on Wireless HEV Charger Program.

  • Young Research Fellowship Award: Dr. Kumar Vaibhav Srivastava has been selected for Young Research Fellowship (Class of 1979 Research Fellowship) for his excellent contribution at IIT Kanpur.

  • Best Paper Award in Session for paper entitled "Design of an Ultra Thin Dual Band Microwave Meta-material Absorber," authored by Saptarshi Ghosh, Debdeep Sarkar, Somak Bhattacharyya and Kumar Vaibhav Srivastava, in Session 1 of Sixth Annual Conference of Antenna Test and Measurement Society of INDIA (ATMS) held in Kolkata during 11-13 February, 2013

  • IEI (The Institution of Engineers, INDIA) Young Engineer Award 2014:Dr. Kumar Vaibhav Srivastava has been selected for IEI (The Institution of Engineers, INDIA) Young Engineer Award 2014 for his significant contribution towards Electrical Engineering discipline.



Department of Electrical Engineering,
Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur
UP, India-208016

Office Phone: 0512-259-7105 (O)

Fax: 0512-259-0063 (O)

Email: kvs[AT]iitk.ac.in


Birds at IIT Kanpur
Information for School Children
IITK Radio
Counseling Service