Prof. Arun K. Ghosh


Prof. Arun K Ghosh is an Ian P. Rothwell Distinguished Professor at Purdue University since 2009. He was earlier a Professor in the Department of Chemistry at University of Illinois at Chicago, Chicago, IL from 1998 to 2005.


Prof. Arun K Ghosh did his BSc (Honors), Calcutta University, 1979 followed by an MSc in Chemistry from IIT Kanpur in 1981. Prof. Ghosh earned his Ph.D from University of Pittsburgh, 1985 and was a postdoctoral fellow at Harvard University in 1988.
His research group is involved in multidisciplinary research projects in the areas of synthetic organic, bioorganic and medicinal chemistry.The group is investigating Synthesis and biological studies of Bioactive Natural Products,Design and synthesis of Molecular Probes for Bioactive Peptides and Proteins,Structure-based Design of Enzyme Inhibitors for Alzheimer's Disease and AIDS,Development of Asymmetric methodologies (Catalytic and Stoichiometric)Multicomponent Reactions (MCR) for Highly Functionalized Products.

Achievements and Honors

  • Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, 2015
  • Herbert Newby McCoy Award, 2015
  • Medicinal Chemistry Hall of Fame, 2013
  • CRSI Medal, the Chemical Research Society of India, 2012
  • National Institutes of Health - MERIT Award, 2011
  • Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, 2010
  • IUPAC-Richter Prize , 2010
  • Jeananne D. and James B. Chaney Research and Scholarship Achievement Award, College of Pharmacy, 2010
  • Novartis Chemistry Lectureship, 2010
  • Thompson Reuters Award in Medicinal Chemistry, 2010
  • Distinguished Alumnus Award, IIT Kanpur, 2009
  • Ian P. Rothwell Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Medicinal Chemistry, 2009
  • Robert Scarborough Excellence in Medicinal Chemistry Award, 2008
  • The Seed for Success Award, 2007
  • Scientific Advisory Board, Channel Island Alzheimer's Research Institute, 2005
  • University Scholar, University of Illinois , 1998
  • Sigma Xi Scientific Society, Pittsburgh, Graduate Research Excellence Award, 1985
  • K. S. Memorial Honorary Medal for Excellence in Chemistry, RKMR College, 1979
  • National Scholar, Government of India, 1976