Aerospace Engineering

Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur

The Aerospace Engineering department at IIT Kanpur, was established in 1964, The Department came as a decision taken by (late Prof.) Dhawan Committee which predicted the need of large number of Aeronautical Engineers to meet the national needs. IIT Kanpur was conceptualized as an Indo/American collaboration. Aeronautical Engineering was also introduced in the same context.

Some of the professors who played a major role in building this Department in its early days:

  • Prof. Holt Ashley
  • Prof. Hazen
  • Prof. Vrebalovich
  • Prof. C.S. Murthy
  • Prof. S.M. Ramachandra
  • Prof. P.N. Murthy

Following faculty members have also served as Head of Department (HOD) in the past:

  • Prof. A. Kushari: 2020-2023
  • Prof. A.K. Ghosh: 2017 - 2020
  • Prof. S. Mittal:  2014–2017
  • Prof. C. Venkatesan: 2011-2014
  • Prof. S. Kamle: 2008–2011
  • Prof. D. Yadav, Acting Head: 2007-2008
  • Prof. R.K. Sullerey: 2005–2007
  • Prof. Kunal Ghosh: 2002–2004
  • Prof. Vijay Gupta: Jan-March, 2002
  • Prof. N. G. R. Iyenger: 1996-2001
  • Prof. Krishna Kumar: 1992-1995
  • Prof. A. K. Gupta: 1989-1992
  • Prof. N. L. Arora: 1986-1989
  • Prof. C.S. Murthy: 1984-1986
  • Prof. N. G. R. Iyenger: 1983-1984
  • Prof. O. P. Sharma: 1980-1983
  • Prof. C.S. Murthy: 1977-1980
  • Prof. P.N. Murthy: 1974-1977
  • Prof. N. C. Nigam: 1973-1974
  • Prof. P.N. Murthy: 1970-1973
  • Prof. S.M. Ramachandra: 1966-1970
  • Prof. C.S. Murthy: 1965-1966
  • Prof. Holt Ashley: 1964-1965

The department has completed and currently involved in a large number of sponsored and consultancy projects for the agencies like AR&DB, ARMREB, ADA, ADE, ADRDE, ASTE, AICTE, DST, DRDL, GTRE, VSSC, ISRO, CSIR, HAL, MHRD, ARDE, HEMRL, CEMILAC, Indian Railways. The expert faculty has designed and developed high-speed and low-speed wind tunnels, measurement methods using hot wire and laser Doppler anemometry, industrial and wind energy aerodynamics, subsonic and transonic flow computations, hypersonic flow computations for re-entry vehicles, and the design and optimization of the fiber-reinforced composite structures for static, dynamic and random loadings.

Over the years the department has also developed excellent collaborative relationship leading to work on several advanced projects of national importance with a large number of aeronautical establishments including NAL, ASTE, GTRE, HAL, DRDL, ADE, ARDE, ADA and ISRO.